France WorldSBK Superpole Race Results: Razgatlioglu beats Bautista

Toprak Razgatlioglu returns to winning ways by battling Alvaro Bautista and Jonathan Rea in the WorldSBK Superpole race at Magny-Cours.

Hoping to avoid a repeat of race one when he lost positions to Razgatlioglu and Scott Redding, Rea did just that by keeping the lead into the first corner before coming under pressure from a very fast starting Bautista.

Faster in the morning warm-up by more than eight tenths, Razgatlioglu made a rare mistake coming off the line and dropped from second to fourth before arriving at the first corner.

While most of the field uses the more popular SC0 race tire, Honda factory riders Iker Lecuona and Xavi Vierge instead opted for pure early-lap performance by choosing the SCX option.

Using the Ducati’s incredible top speed advantage, Bautista wasted no time in taking the lead from Rea in the race to turn five.

Seeking to join the battle for first place, Razgatlioglu returned to the podium places after passing Redding at turn 15.

2022 World Superbike Magny-Cours, France – Superpole Race Results
Pos Rider Nat Crew Time
1 Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR PATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK 10 rounds
2 Alvaro Bautista SPA Aruba.It Racing Ducati +1.891s
3 Jonathan Rea UK Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK +2.040s
4 Alex Lowe UK Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK +3.983s
5 Scott Redding UK BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team +5.019s
6 Axel Bassani ITA Ducati Motocross +5.690s
seven Michael Rinaldi ITA Aruba.It Racing Ducati +6.713s
8 Garrett Gerloff UNITED STATES GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team +11.797s
9 Loris Baz ENG Bonovo Stock BMW +12.194s
ten Andrea Locatelli ITA PATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK +13.092s
11 Iker Lecuona SPA HRC WorldSBK Team +13.794s
12 Philipp Oettl ALL Go Eleven Ducati +14.285s
13 Michel Van Der Mark SPA BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team +14.413s
14 Lucas Mahias ENG Puccetti-Kawasaki +16.345s
15 Luca Bernardi SM Barni Spark Ducati Team +23.491s
16 Kohta Nozane JPN GRT Yamaha +25.030s
17 Hafizh Syahrin WRONG MIE Honda Racing +26.046s
18 Eugene Laverty IRL Bonovo Stock BMW +28.588s
19 Roberto Tamburini ITA Motoxracing Yamaha WorldSBK Team +28.675s
20 Leandro Mercado AR MIE Honda Racing +28.837s
21 Christophe Ponsson ENG Gil Motor Sport Yamaha +29.338s
22 Oscar Gutierrez SPA Kawasaki Pedercini +29.476s
23 Olivier Konig CZE Orelac Racing Kawasaki +34.839s
24 Xavier Virgo SPA HRC WorldSBK Team DNF

As Rea looked to take the lead, Razgatlioglu instead pinched second place from him before an immediate response came from the Kawasaki rider at turn 12.

However, Razgatlioglu was not to be denied as he made the step at Turn 15 before turning his attention to race leader Bautista.

Further and Virgo’s tough weekend ended with a fall in sector three.

With just over five laps to go, Razgatlioglu took the lead from Bautista with a brilliant move at Turn 14.

Somewhat surprisingly given the pace Razgatlioglu seemed to be having, Bautista came back to the reigning world champion on lap seven, however, the Spaniard ran slightly wide at corner five which put the Yamaha rider back in front.

As Bautista assessed another move on Razgatlioglu, contact was then made between the rear of the Yamaha and the front of Bautista’s Ducati, which resulted in part of the championship leader’s fairing breaking. .

The small contact saw Rea move past Bautista for second place, however, the former MotoGP rider came back to his 2019 rival for second place.

Magny-Cours WorldSBK records

Fastest Lap – Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team 1:35.683s (2021)

2021 Race Winners

Race 1 – Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Pata Yamaha

Superpole Race – Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team

Race 2 – Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Pata Yamaha

2022 race winners

Race 1 – Alvaro Bautista SPA Ducati

Razgatlioglu’s win earns him the seventh victory of the year, putting him one behind Bautista.

Magny-Cours WorldSBK Sunday Schedule


Warm-up: 08h00-08h15

Superpole race: 10 a.m.

Race 2: 1:00 p.m.

France WorldSBK Superpole Race Results: Razgatlioglu beats Bautista

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.